facebook twitter twitter instagram

Barbara S. | San Diego, California

January 9 2018 Bark busters rating

After rescuing Bruce 4 years ago (7 months old pitbull/boxer mix) from the pound I realized the challenge I was up to was too hard to handle. Bruce's emotional damage was too deep and he was extremely scared of everything. He did not want to come out of the house. And his separation anxiety made him literally destroy my home. I was so desperate I even called Cesar Milan but I was ignored.

When I saw Justin's brochure at the vet I decided to give it a try.

Justin is exactly like all these reviews say: such a good guy with a deep passion for dogs and helping families be happy with their dog. I decided to buy the lifetime training for Bruce as this kind of problem is very slow to resolve and it takes lots of patience.

Justin came to see us for several lessons. Also, I would call him every time I had a doubt and he was always there for us, after hour and weekends included.

Needless to say, with Justin's help Bruce came out of his shell within a few months and today he is A PEFECT DOG!

Moreover, Justin opened my eyes to a brand new way of looking at dogs and interacting with them. Now I feel like I understand better all dogs.

Both my dogs, Bruce and Vasco, are simply perfect. Thanks to Justin's teachings, now I have a channel of communication with them.

I recently called Justin to ask him for an advice (3 years later) and he immediately remembered me and Bruce like we saw each other the day before.

Justin is genuinely concerned about dogs and I believe he has the skills to resolve most situations. He will help you if you are willing to work with your dog. Because after all, dog training is more for dog owners to understand how to communicate with their dog and how to be understood from them. It does take lots of love, time, work and dedication from the owner. Dog training does not exactly work with a 'magic wand' to fix issues immediately, but with Justin and a bit of work on your part, it sure works! Justin makes training fun and bonding with your dog. I enjoyed this experience and the results.

All I can say is: thank you, Justin!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on lead

Bona R. | San Diego, California

January 4 2018 Bark busters rating

I HIGHLY recommend Justin! He is the ultimate dog whisperer. I went from a hyperactive dog who I couldn't control when walking to a calmer, happy boy who understands loose leash walking. We were able to fix my dog in less than an hour of training and techniques we learned from Justin. He is super informative and you can tell he has such a passion for dogs. I can't wait to continue using the techniques Justin gave us!

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on lead

Bona R. | San Diego, California

January 4 2018 Bark busters rating

I HIGHLY recommend Justin! He is the ultimate dog whisperer. I went from a hyperactive dog who I couldn't control when walking to a calmer, happy boy who understands loose leash walking. We were able to fix my dog in less than an hour of training and techniques we learned from Justin. He is super informative and you can tell he has such a passion for dogs. I can't wait to continue using the techniques Justin gave us!

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on lead

Bruce L. | San Diego, California

December 15 2017 Bark busters rating

Justin is indeed a dog whisperer, to say nothing of being a dog-owner whisperer, provided those people will listen. We adopted our Husky "Sky" about a month ago. She's a sweet, gentle dog but suffers from some separation anxiety and leash pulling. In one session Justin showed us how to resolve those issues, nearly completely, ourselves. We have a regimen now of practice to reinforce what's been taught and we're absolutely positive that in very short order, Sky will be much happier, better behaved in the areas of concern we had, etc. Best of all, Justin and Barkbusters services come with unlimited support for the lifetime of our dog, so long as we live up to our commitments. We couldn't be happier and Sky couldn't be happier either. Thanks Justin!!! Your are without a doubt living your dream and 100% committed to making your life about the work you do. Hats off to you!!! Now, if you can help us train our 5 year old human, I'll double your rate!!!

barkingpulling on leadseparation anxiety

Daniel B. | San Diego, California

December 11 2017 Bark busters rating

I just want to say that Justin is amazing! Our puppy (10.5 months old), wasn't a "bad" dog, but had a couple issues. Barking at neighbors especially in the elevator (live in a condo), not listening to us when we wanted her to come to us, not great on the leash all the time, barking at guests or at the front door when the bell was rung, and a few other "small" things. And I will be honest, because we saw these things as "small" I was skeptical that Justin would be able to fix these issues as quickly as his other reviewers claimed, but I was dead wrong. Justin not only fixed these issues, but also gave us the tools to keep our puppy happy, confident and well behaved going forward. The thing that I loved the most about working with Justin was the fact that he didn't only help us to correct our puppy's behavior for our sake, but he also correctly identified her behavior as her being stressed, and not confident, and helped her through that as well. So not only are we happier, she is happier. Justin spent almost 3 hours with us in one day, he is very dedicated! And also one of the nicest people you will ever meet. By the end of the training my puppy passed my neighbor, who she normally ALWAYS barks at, and she walked passed her and didn't make a sound. We also went into a crowded elevator and my puppy not only didn't bark but looked pretty comfortable. I would HIGHLY recommend Justin to anyone who has any issues with their dog, he is worth every penny! Thanks Justin!!!

barkinghyperactivitypuppy training

Erica T. | San Diego, California

December 9 2017 Bark busters rating

Justin is truly a lifesaver! We used to walk down the street scared of how our dog luke would react with other dogs, he was always such a sweetheart in our house, but on the street, it was a different story! After just one visit Luke was a different dog! The techniques the Justin uses are simple but effective, Luke has become the dog we always knew he could be. He is a pleasure to walk on leash now and is so much better in the house in terms of barking at the door and leaving us alone while we eat. We were skeptical at first but desperate to try anything, and I am so glad we did. I promise you after one meeting your dog will be a different dog as well! The best part is that Justin is just a phone call or text away and is always willing to help.

aggressionhyperactivitypulling on lead

Mark R. | San Diego, California

December 8 2017 Bark busters rating

We call Justin, "THE DOCTOR". In a two hour session, The DOCTOR transformed our rescue dog, Ozzi. From a skittish, nervous dog who was becoming unpredictable and aggressive and would go ballistic when someone came to the door or into the house, into 'man's best friend'. A miracle we tell ya, a miracle.

Ozzi was doing GREAT, but then we left on a 5 week vacation and Ozzi was his old self. In a 20-30 minute refresher, THE DOCTOR, got everyone back on track. Literally 15 minutes and we had things back to 'GREAT'.

I was thrilled with the LIFETIME guarantee but wondered how long t'd take to get THE DOCTOR out for a re-visit. He came two days after my call. I felt supported with renewed confidence. Justin, er, I mean "THE DOCTOR" knows his stuff and is well worth the investment. He ain't cheap BUT he's Magic.

We have bragged about Justin & Ozzi to a kazillion folks. They guy is good. And DOCTOR-- Thank you from our family to your!

Love, Ozzi

aggressionbarkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on lead

Madison C. | San Diego, California

November 30 2017 Bark busters rating

I am so happy to be writing this review!

Some quick background, my fiancé and I adopted a 5 month old puppy in May. He was a rescue from Mexico and although he was sweet as can be with us, he was timid and could be unpredictable. We noticed that his fearful nature was leading to aggression- especially toward people entering our home. After a few incidences with some aggression towards visitors and people in our neighborhood, we were at a loss at what to do.

Oliver showed many fear based behaviors- barking, growling and snapping at anything he deemed to be "suspicious"- a person walking by, a plastic bag blowing in the street, a broom, his own tail...Trying to take him on a walk was near impossible, he would be so afraid of everything we literally couldn't get him to move and he would shake in fear.

We had already done 12 weeks of obedience training and it didn't really seem to work when he was heightened trying to protect his territory or us. I am so glad I came across Bark Busters. I spoke to Jason (Justin's assistance) and he was amazing! He spent 30 minutes on the phone listening to some of the behaviors we were observing and if Bark Buster's would be effective. I never felt pressured or like I was being sold something, he was warm and empathetic and encouraged me to think about it before committing. After reading all of the reviews we decided to book our appointment and I can't tell you how happy we are.

Justin truly is the dog whisperer. He explained where Ollie's behaviors were coming from and how we could correct him to show him that we we are the leaders of the pack. I was so nervous that he would say our dog couldn't be helped and would just leave, but he asked us to trust him and let him meet Oliver.

We had Oliver on leash and he began his aggressive behaviors, and responded instantly to the corrections. Justin built trust with Oliver and showed us how to encourage him. He respected our dog's fearful nature and showed us how to adjust the correction levels so they were appropriate for what he needed. By the end of the appointment Oliver just wanted Justin to pet him and play with him THIS WAS A BEHAVIOR WE HAD NEVER SEEN WITH ANYONE EXCEPT MY FIANCÉ AND I! We were absolutely blown away.

We went on a walk and that dog that wouldn't move and feared everything..GONE and replaced with a happy-go-lucky tail waggin' dog that followed all direction and corrections. All of this after 1 appointment!

If you are in a similar situation, don't hesitate! Book now! It was worth every penny. I can't wait to continue our lessons and give our dog the relaxing life he deserves.

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadother

Trevor D. | San Diego, California

November 10 2017 Bark busters rating

I can't even begin to explain how amazing Justin is. My dog Gnarly is a 7 years old Yorkie, who has had social behavioral problems since he was about 3 years old (due to a traumatic incident). It's been hard to take him places (parks, restaurants, beaches, airplanes, etc.) because he would get so aggressive with other dogs, even if he just saw one.

At his age, I was sure there was no way to cure this behavior and Gnarly and I both would have to endure the stress and fear of being around other dogs.

Then Justin came in and turned our worlds upside down...

Within a matter of an hour or so, Gnarly had become another dog in the best way possible! I was absolutely amazed I started tearing up. He didn't bark at the door anymore, didn't jump when you tried to feed him a treat/food, we walked through the downtown farmer's market (and if you're not familiar, it is FILLED with dogs and people!) and didn't even flinch at the sight or presence of another dog, and he was walking right past them. We even met Justin's dog and Gnarly was totally cool with him. I am such a proud dog parent, words can't even describe.

Just goes to show that old dogs can always learn new tricks! :D

Thank you so much for giving us the freedom to live our lives to the fullest Justin!!

aggressionbarkingpulling on lead

Savannah M. | San Diego, California

October 31 2017 Bark busters rating

I've had my dog Beamer since he was a puppy. He has always been an absolute sweetheart, but he had a lot of behavioral problems. My dog was, dog aggressive, would bark at anything that would walk by our porch, he would try and eat his leash, he would pull on his leash so bad that he has actually made me fall down the stairs and pulled me down. I was at my ultimate lowest when he tried to attack and kill two dogs at the dog park, I was lucky that he was wearing his muzzle. I was so absolutely stressed, and overwhelmed and scared. I was terrified taking my dog out to go to the bathroom, I was terrified that something bad was going to happen and I would have had to put down my best friend. At Beamer and I's all time low, my mom found justin.

Beamer and I have only had one session so far, and got the lifetime guarantee. But all I can say is he is wonderful! I saw improvement in my dog with the first 45 minuets. I was able to walk him around the neighborhood with a loose leash, and him staying right by side. His attitude has changed, he is back to being my sweet boy I used to know. Earlier today he watched another dog walk by on the porch and did nothing about it. This morning I've been able to leave the sliding door open to my porch, while dogs have been walking by, and he has continued to stay by me instead of running out their and barking. This was all in the first session! I'm so happy to see such improvements in my best friend. I'm very excited to see what the future holds for me and Beamer and I look forward to more sessions! Thank you so much, justin! I recommend him to anyone that thinks that their dog is un-fixable, I thought mine was, and now I finally have hope!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on lead
15140-1508523020.jpg

Susan D. | San Diego, California

October 21 2017 Bark busters rating

"Justin has completely changed our life with his training methods. We had worked with a number of trainers who had said we just had to "manage" our dog and put him away when people came over to our home since he is very territorial and will go after people. Justin gave us the tools to help Rocky (and us) feel much more comfortable and allow all of us and our guests to relax and enjoy. We were skeptical at first but the proof is in the pudding as they say. My parents came to stay for a few days and after 5 minutes of training, Rocky was sitting on their laps, smiling, accepting pets and treats and in the "green" zone. We were in shock! I cannot recommend Justin enough - if you're unsure, just do it! Other trainers told us our dog was a "lost cause", and Justin had him relaxed and happy in 10 minutes! I wish I could give him more than 5 stars for how much he has helped us and Rocky."

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

aggressionbarking
15141-1508527054.jpg

Jenna F. | San Diego, California

October 21 2017 Bark busters rating

Justin has been amazing with my rescue Pit. She was a little devil on a leash - pulling, chasing cats, zig zagging everywhere; unwalkable for me. She is the SWEETEST dog but on a leash she was a nightmare. Justin fixed my issue within minutes of working with me. Indie was a different dog - controlled, focused, and calm. Justin has changed our household and the energy that Indie now has. She is relaxed, patience and actually has manners :) Jusitn was so understanding, patient, and responsive throughout the entire process. He really took his time to get to know Indie and her background of abuse and neglect. THANK YOU JUSTIN - Jenna and Indie

aggressionbarkingchewingjumping uppulling on leadseparation anxiety
15142-1508529291.jpg

Kurt K. | San Diego, California

October 21 2017 Bark busters rating

Cesar Milan would be proud of Justin. Within a few short hours my rescue pitbull who had severe anxiety around skateboards, strangers and loud noises, was sitting wagging his tail while Justin the trainer was riding a skateboard in front of him and landscapers with leaf blowers were working next to him. Justin immediately helped me understand where my dog's anxiety came from and then helped me to train him to confront these situations as the leader of the two. My dog is now worry free on walks and the both of us now live in an anxiety free environment. Bark Busters works!

other

Adesh K. | San Diego, California

October 21 2017 Bark busters rating

We called Justin after our dog Cooper started showing signs of aggression to other people. We had rescued him just 2 months previously and noticed things about his behavior that concerned us and we wanted to fix it quickly before it escalated into something more dangerous. Cooper would not let people enter the house, would bark and lung at strangers in the street when out walking on his leash, would chase and bark at everything that moved including people, dogs and cars and it was becoming very stressful. Justin was very calm, professional and patient as he explained everything to us and put our minds at ease. He talked us through why Cooper was behaving the way he was and the techniques we needed to use to help eliminate these unwanted behaviors. He was patient and kind as he taught us and within 30 minutes Cooper was a different dog, he was the happy, relaxed little guy we had been hoping for. Just 30 minutes previously Cooper was throwing himself at the patio doors and growling and barking at Justin as he arrived. Within a very short time of working with Cooper he was sat on his knee and had made a new best friend. It was fantastic to see Cooper behaving this way with a stranger. By the end of session 1 we couldn't believe the positive changes, Cooper was walking nicely on the leash without pulling, ignoring other people and dogs we passed, he was calm and relaxed in the house and would allow people to enter through the front door. I was surprised and delighted that these changes happened almost immediately. Its been 3 days since Justins first visit and we are continuing to practice the techniques daily and pleasantly surprised every day by Coopers progress and positive changes. Justin is the real deal and we are very pleased with our decision to work with him.

aggressionbarkingpulling on lead

Alicia S. | San Diego, California

October 21 2017 Bark busters rating

If you want to have a well behaved, calm, happy dog then call Justin!

He's not only the BEST trainer, he genuinely cares about me and my dog. My puppy was so anxious, scared and attached to me when I first got him. I could barley take a step without him walking in front of me, making it impossible to walk anywhere. After one training session, Koda is a new dog, he walks right beside me and continues to become stronger and more confident everyday with the techniques that Justin has taught us. He was so reassuring and patient with me while I was learning the techniques to establish leadership with my dog. The best part is he is ALWAYS there for us whenever we need him. Koda loves him and so do I! I think every dog owner should invest in their dog by hiring A great trainer like Justin. Thank you Justin for truly caring and helping us have the best relationship possible. The results have been amazing, you really are the dog whisperer. We appreciate you so much! :)

separation anxiety
15086-1507329552.jpeg

Tess S. | San Diego, California

October 7 2017 Bark busters rating

I rescued my Great Pyrenees/Shepard mix about 2 years ago. I take her everywhere and she is definitely a very social dog. She always had her quirks but recently I noticed a shift in her behavior. She became very territorial and possessive over me and her space. She would bark at dogs on walks, go crazy when a person or dog walked past our fence and I was afraid to have her at dog parks which was terrible because she LOVES playing. I just had my first session with Justin 2 days ago and I already see a drastic change. She listens to me and understands that I am her leader. Justin breaks down "dog language" into very simple exercises that don't take much time but really help. Lily walks right next to my side and lets dog pass by with ease. She seems so relaxed and happy which makes me that happiest dog mama ever. I am forever grateful for Justin and these Bark Buster techniques. I will continue to work with her and Justin so I can continue to see progress. I can't say enough wonderful things about Justin! He truly loves the dogs and cares so much about creating a safe and loving environment for them.

aggressionbarkingrecall

Chanda K. | San Diego, California

September 23 2017 Bark busters rating

The skinny:

The bottom line is the Bark Buster technique is extremely effective and easy to understand. Justin is incredibly personable, obviously understands and loves dogs and takes the time to listen. It was like he had done a root cause analysis of LeRoi's behavior after spending less than 20 minutes talking about it. And that was prior to meeting him.

Some of the details for color:

Not only did his technique work within minutes on my 70lb Olde English Bulldog, his technique on me was probably faster. I was worried that I would need to change the way I treated my dog or that everything I have been doing is wrong--since I spoil LeRoi. He explained the difference between spoiling your dog and having a spoiled brat for a dog. That immediately put me at ease.

LeRoi is a 3.5-year-old Olde English Bulldog that is extremely sweet but skittish. He's scared of grocery bags or people coming into the house with anything in their hands, but put the stuff down and his little butt wiggles 80 miles an hour. He gets over excited, levitates all four paws off the ground, runs buck wild for the first hour people are visiting, finds the person with black pants to wipe the slobber on, and recently started to jump up on anyone holding a baby.

While always having a little leash aggression towards dogs and a desire to get in a human's way so they could pet him more easily (he's considerate that way), he recently growled at a little neighborhood girl who was trying to pet him. I knew I needed to make sure that this type of behavior was curbed.

Justin treated my dog like it was his own and demonstrated the ability to shower your dog with affection and attention while still maintaining boundaries. Within the span of the first training exercise, LeRoi's behavior began to modify. After successfully completing a series of exercises, a training plan was written up, highlighted and explained to me--all within 2 hours.

As the day went on, I had questions pop up and Justin answered them all within minutes of them being sent. The next day, I received a personalized email checking in on the training, including a summary of key points and the reiteration of his availability should any problems or questions arise.

Several years ago, my ex-husband and I sent our dog to one of the areas 2-week behavioral boot camps--I wish I had known about Justin and Bark Busters then, it would have saved us thousands with quicker and better results.

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on lead

Kate M. | Spring Valley, California

July 7 2017 Bark busters rating

I wish I could give Justin from Bark Busters more than 5 stars. He is truly the dog whisperer. He helped us work through our Cane Corso named Bruno's food aggression. He walks into a room and the dogs are immediately calm. I've never seen anything like it. He even gave us his personal cell phone number so we can text or call anytime we have questions or concerns. Our dog displayed food aggression and resource guarding since he was about eight weeks old and about 6.5 lbs. he's now 6 months old and 80 lbs. His dad was between 130-150 lbs so we were extremely concerned about this behavior. Justin is not only a trainer but also a behaviorist and was able to get down to the root of the problem. I don't know what we would've done without Justin! His training program was easy to follow and work on daily.

aggressionbarkingpuppy trainingother

Kevin K. | San Diego, California

June 27 2017 Bark busters rating

Justin is amazing!!!! He transformed our dog in 1 hour!!! My dog was rescued and was also attacked twice. With few traumatic experiences she developed some bad behaviors. She would tug while walking, growl at other dogs/ people and bark at anyone who entered our place. With my wife expecting in 3 months, I was genuinely concerned about our dog's behavior.

Justin used his behavioral techniques and really changed her and most importantly my dog seems happier than ever. I now enjoy walking her and taking her in public settings. She is the fun loving dog that I adopted!!!!

He is the Jedi of dogs!!!! I am a firm believer in his technique. Justin is genuinely passionate about dogs and reconnecting the owner/dog bond. Thank you.

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on lead

Jeff G. | San Diego, California

June 27 2017 Bark busters rating

I honestly don't even know where to begin. We rescued a puppy at 10 weeks old from Tennessee who over the years (he's now 6) has developed fear aggression and territorial issues. We had worked with a number of trainers over his life thus far, and after he was attacked by 3 dogs in 2015, we were told that we just needed to adjust and "manage" his behavior. That meant, if anyone came over to our house, he needed to be crated in our bedroom with the door shut. We heard about Justin on a community message board and decided to give it a try. Justin arrived on time and from the minute they walked through our front door, everything changed! There was no judgement on what we had or hadn't done for Rocky, only tips and tools to help us going forward. It was amazing to see the transformation in Rocky from a stressed out, red zone dog to a calm, "in vacation mode" dog. Justin and Mike helped us see that Rocky just needed to learn that he didn't need to be the protector or the leader and at the end of our session, Rocky was actually laying down in his bed in the living room which all of us talked and moved around! Before they came, he couldn't have even been in the same room with us. Bark Busters (and Justin!) have given us and Rocky a new lease on life and for that we are so grateful! Take it from someone who has spent years and a lot of money trying to fix the symptoms - hiring Bark Busters is the best investment we've ever made! Thank you Justin :)

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on lead

Natalia W. | Lemon Grove, California

March 25 2017 Bark busters rating

We just had our second training session with Justin and it's hard to explain what this has meant for us. Here's a little background. We purchased our dream dog, a gorgeous pick of the litter springer spaniel. She was meant for a life of show but had the terrible luck of having her parents be aggressive with her which in the dog world is about as traumatic of an experience as you can have. This went on for 4.5 months so by the time we got her, her dog aggression was out of control. She attacked our senior cocker spaniel any time I pet her or if she went near her food or toys and any other dog she would see she would instantly want to attack and I'm talking straight for the face and neck until she saw blood. I have never seen a puppy be so aggressive in my life. It was heartbreaking and so stressful to live in fear of when she'd snap at our other dogs and not know if we'd ever be able to live in harmony.

Enter Justin- the most mellow, positive energy, ray of sunshine you'll ever meet. Instantly the room changes because the dog knows someone is in charge now and she relaxes knowing it's no longer her job to protect the pack. He explains to us how she came from trauma and I got her right after the trauma of losing our 10 year old Tibetan terrier so together we were the perfect mess of wanting to save each other but instead creating unstable havoc.

It was time to teach her that she was safe with her new leaders and that although I was unstable when I got her it was not her job to protect me or the home or anything. It takes a minute to understand that everything we do as humans with nothing but the best intentions actually hurts our animals in these situations. The second you implement the BAH and you start with corrections the dog instantly starts looking to you for guidance and the transformation almost makes you feel like an idiot because the science behind it is so simple. You are now communicating with your dog like a dog instead of trying to have them know how to understand human.

Back to today. The scene is the Little Italy farmers market where there's a million dogs and people. Showing leadership we walk by everyone with no attacks because I'm in control. Here's the real kicker, we are working the Justin's perfect boy Luca who is the example of a calm , submissive, respectful dog. Addie is shy and fearful but every block she is learning to gain confidence and trust in us and in Luca. By the end of the hour we are chatting on a corner and Addie keeps checking Luca out. She's on her back getting a belly rub and he comes to sniff her and she puts out a paw to his face to engage in play. In my head harp music plays, white doves fly and in real life I start crying because to see her do that instead of trying to rip him open is an experience that couldn't really be felt in any other way other than raw emotion. You know what makes you feel right about a situation like that? When your trainer has tears in his eyes knowing what just happened and what he did for a family that just weeks ago was so broken. I can't sell this service any more genuinely than this.

I'll be completely transparent, when I first called bark busters the price took me back and I said no way. It took 2 weeks of bloody attacks to hit rock bottom and decide that's what budgeting and credit cards are for. After today I'd hand over my home and car keys for such effective training, in a heartbeat!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadrivalry

Amber E. | San Diego, California

September 22 2016 Bark busters rating

Justin is remarkable!

I have a 1 1/2 year old Boston Terrier, Bentley, who has had growing leash aggression, anxiety around other dogs, whimpering at home when dogs would walk by and just generally thought he was the boss. I had come to the point where I was scared to even walk past a dog not knowing how he would react, which in turn was creating more anxiety and aggression in Bentley.

Within one session, Bentley was a changed dog, and I was a changed person. Justin showed me how to speak dog - and it worked! He adjusted the training to be specific to Bentley, who was very sensitive and needed lots of praise after he heard the "BAH" (You'll know what that means and how it works soon enough!). The very next walk Bentley and I went on, I wanted to walk by dogs, just to see how awesome Bentley was doing. I've now heard "what a well-trained dog" on my walks a few times and share Justin's information on the street!

As Bentley became more comfortable with his new boss (me!), he started to push the boundaries a little more while walking. Justin and I met again and we went through how to proactively manage each situation. Justin even brought his own dog and mine together so that I could understand how I should handle introductions. Instead of growling and jumping, Bentley was submissive and sweet. He took his time meeting Justin's dog and before the end of the lesson was giving dog kisses and rolling on his back around the other dog.

Bentley is now happier and more importantly, stress and anxiety free. Having worked with other trainers in the past without sustained improvement, I can tell you that Justin's passion and knowledge are beyond worth the investment. I am now armed with the tools to be prepared for any situation and know that Justin is there if I need him! I highly recommend him - you will be amazed at the change you will see!

aggressionbarkinghyperactivitypulling on lead

Stephanie C. | San Diego, California

August 17 2015 Bark busters rating

Well future Bark Buster customer.. I'm sure you've already read a ton of reviews. The reality is that Justin really is everything and more! I have been working with Justin for almost a year and I really respect everything he taught me. I have waited a long time to write this review because I wanted to make sure that his process really did work.( it comes down to you and how consistent you are with your dog.) Chevy is my princess and let me just state for the record even though I loved her from the moment I got her we did not get off on the right foot ( she would pee everywhere, whine, and chew on whatever she wanted not to mention she didn't listen oh and she would scratch at a door till the point of bleeding and ripping of her paws) Chevy is a Miniature Pinscher, she is a very full of life pup, although she is also a very difficult breed to have with out training. I've had her since she was four months old. Unfortunately I came from a family that hit dogs. That's definitely not how I wanted to treat my furbaby. Justin gave me the tools... Wait to put it bluntly Justin trained me to be a better dog owner. Yes yes he trained Chevy, but mostly me. I had no idea that catering to my furbaby's whining was actually a big no no . Anything that came up with Chevy, Justin happily made time for us. All of my situations are better now that Chevy and I have Justin. He has a hundred or so five star reviews for a reason. If you are going to invest in your dog invest in this. Hope my review helped.

barkingdigginghyperactivityjumping upseparation anxiety

Francesca S. | San Diego, California

August 17 2015 Bark busters rating

Justin deserves every review including mine! He definitely knows what he's doing. He is very passionate and loves his craft! He really cares...He has a lot of patience too. Justin is very supportive which is extremely appreciated because training a pup can be exhausting and overwhelming. I don't feel alone in this process. In fact, I feel like Justin is my team player. My Zen-Monkee is turning into the best little behaved pup ever! Justin is teaching me the need of consistency, discipline and love! "it's all about balance", he says. My pup had separation anxiety but she's getting SO much better. She would go nuts if left alone, and now, she just sleeps:o)) He shows me the training exercises to do and it's up to me to do the homework. Repetition is the key. As owners, we gotta do the work, Justin can only guide us to a point. The transformation from this crazy little Gremlin of mine to a real obedient Zen dog is remarkable!! It happens SO quickly! He teaches me how to be the mother dog essentially...we must speak dog because dog's don't understand human language. He's also teaching me how dogs are like kids, they want boundaries so they feel safe so they don't have to feel insecure, hence where the bad behaviors. He's also guiding me in potty training guidelines. She's had a few accidents but it would have been a lot more had I not been guided by Justin. Justin guides, we follow and the homes with doggies becomes a balanced, loving home. Thanks Justin...The Dog Whisperer has nothing on you!!!

barkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadseparation anxietytoiletingpuppy training

Kim M. | Santee, California

July 27 2015 Bark busters rating

Justin is simply an amazing trainer!! First let me tell you what poorly behaved dogs we have. First there is Sedona a pitbull mixed with ridgeback who is very aggressive and super protective of me and our home. She constantly barked and would attack the front door if anybody dared to knock. We couldn't have friends and sometimes family come over because of her issues. She attempts to bite strangers and my pool man won't come over unless she is locked up. She didn't used to be this bad until the neighbors landscapers started taunting her and soon the other neighbor joined in as well! So we put up a wood fence so nobody can taunt her, but she still barked and my wonderful elderly neighbor couldn't enjoy her own yard because of Sedona. She also fence fights with one of the dogs behind us. Did I mention she attacks the TV if she sees animals? Well, that was all before Justin came into our home and changed who was the Leader! Surprisingly it is no longer Sedona! It's me! I can actually answer the door, watch TV animals and my house and yard are so peaceful, I just Love it! Saucy is our other dog, she is a German Shirthair Pointer who jumps on everyone and bops their noses, barked constantly at the sound of a leaf dropping and lunges at the front door at an unsuspecting visitor. Well that poor behavior has stopped too. Justin has taught me how to reprogram my dogs and be a leader. He is the 4th trainer, yep fourth! And the only one that has been able to help me correct my dogs and teach them to be happy relaxed dogs. We started on walking them today and I know I have a lot more training ahead of me, but I'm actually getting it! Sedona is very leash aggressive to other animals so that's what we are working on now. I have seen more improvement in just a free weeks than I have in 5 years and it is empowering. Don't wait to make your appointment, you will be so happy with the results! I will update this review as more wonderful things happen. I don't know who is happier and more relaxed, me or my dogs! It's going to be such a wonderful life now, I won't have to stress like I used to. My husband said its so peaceful we can actually hear birds in our yard! And Saucy doesn't get up in the middle of the night barking so we're sleeping better too!

Again, don't wait Justin is a miracle worker and Sedona let him sit on our couch and pet her!!! I'm still astounded. It takes persistence, don't give up on your furry children, call Justin today!

aggressionbarkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on lead

Kim P. | San Diego, California

July 11 2015 Bark busters rating

There is clearly a reason why Justin has all 5-star reviews. He is an AWESOME dog trainer who lives up to every. single. review.

We found Justin through Yelp (after reading all these amazing transformation stories from other clients that we could relate to) when we relocated back to San Diego with our 3yr old rescue dog, Sadie. Since adopting her, we had problems with dog-aggression and fear-aggression towards strangers. Seeing a dog on a walk or having a guest over was a very stressful thing for all of us and made us shy away from those situations entirely.

Justin came in swiftly and told us it was all going to change. He taught us the techniques to let Sadie know she was no longer in charge. We immediately saw a shift in her mindset - she was able to relax and just able to enjoy being a dog (instead of 24/7 guard dog). We introduced to her to our family and friend's dogs and found out she LOVES to play! I never would have thought I'd see the day when Sadie would have dog friends. Justin even recommended a great kennel-free daycare/boarding that carefully screens dogs and now Sadie can go there to play + work on her socialization skills. That all would not have been possible without Justin's training and assistance.

My family is AMAZED by the transformation they've seen in Sadie. She went from being a somewhat loose-cannon to a relaxed, happy dog that just loves to be apart of our pack. Justin has helped us accomplish this. I'd highly recommend Justin to anyone looking for a talented, personable trainer who truly cares about his clients (canine and human).

aggressionbarkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on lead

Will S. | San Diego, California

July 3 2015 Bark busters rating

Justin at Bark Busters is the absolute real deal, but what do you expect from the Trainer of the Year and International Trainer of the Year award winner?

Just like many of you, my wife and I read through all the reviews very carefully before we made the decision to work with Justin. Every single one of the reviews offered up crazy hyperbole, stories and examples to describe how awesome Justin is and we were hopeful but slightly skeptical. (How could you not be right?) Let me tell you, not only is Justin everything stated in these reviews, but he is even more than that.

From the very first lesson, our Vizsla puppy Scout, responded to everything Justin taught us immediately. She went from pulling on every single walk to walking right beside us RIGHT AWAY. She stopped jumping on our friends RIGHT AWAY. She became a different dog RIGHT AWAY. It left my wife and I completely speechless and it still amazes us that everything Justin taught us worked so well, so easily and so quickly. It completely changed our relationship with Scout and it was not difficult at all to learn and implement - just listen to Justin and be consistent!

Also, Justin is just a good dude that truly cares about dogs and people. He caters his methodologies to each individual dog, owners and their personalities. He always stresses that he's super available to help out either over the phone or in person so definitely take him up on that.

If you're even considering hiring someone else, DON'T. We couldn't recommend Justin more. Some of the best money we've ever spent. Ever.

barkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on lead

Junelle S. | San Diego, California

July 1 2015 Bark busters rating

Justin is a miracle worker! My baby was a spoiled brat and now he is just spoiled. I used to hate taking him anywhere because all he would do is bark and pull on the leash as well as jump on others. He had no manners at all! Now he is a dream to take out! No pulling, one or two barks but listens to corrections, and doesn't jump on people. He actually sits and waits to be petted instead of jumping. He is so much more enjoyable to have around and seems to be a much happier pup! I don't know what I would do without bark busters. I recommend him to everyone! We had taken our baby to 3 different training classes and my pup is smart so he would behave in class and learn everything but, the second we get home he "forgot" everything. With Justin coming to our house my pup knows that the training isn't just for in class but for everyday. After 1 training with Justin my baby was a changed pup. Well worth the money as the value you get in life with your dog is priceless.

barkingjumping uppulling on lead

Tricia M. | San Diego, California

May 2 2015 Bark busters rating

Jesus, I mean Justin...I get them confused some times. Oh I remember, Jesus turns water in to wine and Justin turns dog owners into pack leaders and skittish dogs into calm and obedient followers. Close.

First of all, we want to thank all the other people that wrote reviews because we would have never called Justin if it were not for the stories I read, which made us realize there were so many other dog owners out there going through similar experiences.

Here is our story, we adopted Henry "Hank" Fitzgerald from Helen Woodward a year ago this month. They had no background on him since they received him from another shelter. They did however tell us he was roughly six months old and a terrier mix that would be no more than 25-30lbs. We are quite certain he is a coonhound with a beard and well he's 60lbs now. Initially we found Hank to be incredibly submissive, sweet and friendly, but a couple months after we had him he was sprayed in the face by a skunk in our backyard. Shortly after he became very territorial of us, the house and would patrol the backyard barking at night. Every sound he heard, his hair would stand up and he would bark aggressively at the fence. Another month or more, when anyone would approach the door he would charge the door and bark aggressively, which evolved into him growling at friends coming into the house and eventually nipping two of our friends. We could tell he was feeling very anxious and afraid, but we were uncertain what to do. Another thing Hank would do was bark at us constantly to play. We would let him out to the backyard and he would bark until we joined him and if he was in the house he would bark at us until we played with him, it was a nonstop bark fest. Next, he was kicked out of daycare. He had always been incredibly friendly with other dogs, but apparently had an issue with an old yellow labrador retriever that napped all day. It started with him barking at him on occasion, but later turned into him viciously snarling and lunging at him. We were called to pick him up and they recommended not bringing him back until he had some training. We recently had a couple other experiences of him lunging at friends and aggressively barking and lunging at an old sick dog while camping. Long story short...we felt like we needed help soon before something serious happened.

After a quick google search Bark Busters came up on Yelp. I couldn't believe all the 5 out of 5 star reviews especially considering most people use the internet to complain. After reading the stories I hoped that Justin was the answer to our problems and he definitely was. Just like everyone else said, Justin came to our home, spent the first 30 minutes educating us on dog psychology and establishing dominance in the home. He taught us the tools we need to take ownership back over our home. We began practicing on Hank and literally within 20 minutes he was an entirely different dog. He was submissive, relaxed and happy. He was walking around the house seeking our approval and attention, which is not something Hank would do in the past. It was unreal how quickly he responded. No really...UNREAL! After one training session, Hank now sits at the door before he comes in and out of the house and he no longer barks at us for attention. We are still working on the front door and visitors, but he knows we are in charge and he doesn't approach the door or our guests anymore. After the second training, he is now leash trained. He used to pull us all over the neighborhood, but now he is a perfect gentleman and walks behind us. There is plenty of more to do and every day is a training day, but our lives and Hank's life have changed dramatically. We enjoy every second with him now. He knows we are in charge and he's living a much calmer and more fulfilling life because of it. He's a calm, cool and collected coonhound thanks to Justin.

Seriously, do not hesitate calling Justin. He truly is amazing. He's a great teacher, listener and the best part is, we have his support for the rest of Hank's life. Thank you Justin. Our family is a happier and healthier family now because of you.

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on lead

Kylee E. | San Diego, California

February 10 2015 Bark busters rating

Where to even begin? Justin deserves every single 5 star review written here and more.

My dogs are my babies. I have 2 boys, a 2 year old dachshund I've had since he was a pup and a 1 year old chihuahua mix I got from the humane society about 4 months ago. They are wonderful additions to my little family, but they both barked consistently, walking them was like flying kites and they completely ruled our house.. Which is why I called Justin.

We have now had 2 sessions with him and even just a few minutes into our first session they were different dogs. He teaches how to properly correct the dogs behavior and it's actually effective!! Finally, I feel like we're getting through to them and not just consistently speaking another language to them, which is frustrating to us and the dogs too.

They don't bark or bombard guests coming into my home any longer, they walk by my side, come when called, and so much more! It's amazing!!!

Having these tools to communicate with my boys is priceless and so rewarding when your dogs show you respect and treat you like the alpha that you are.

I love my dogs to pieces and having them so well behaved is only making my bond with them stronger. If you are even thinking about getting a trainer, look no further! You won't find anything better than Justin.

aggressionbarkingchewingjumping uppulling on leadtoileting